University of New Hampshire

School of Law

Constitutional Law

The Constitution allocates power among the three branches of the federal government, between the federal government and the states, and between all government and individuals. Reflecting this division of responsibility, the course divides into three main units: (1) the separation of powers between the branches of the federal government; (2) the relationship between the federal government and the states; and (3) the basic structure of the Constitution's protection of individual rights, including the specific protections of due process and equal protection. Significant portions of the Constitution will not be covered. In particular, constitutional provisions regarding the rights of criminal defendants and the protections provided by the First Amendment are topics covered in other courses.

Search terms must contain 3 or more characters.