University of New Hampshire

School of Law

School of Law

Moot Court Teams Head Into Competition Season With Big Victory

UNH Law’s 2011-12 Moot Court teams will compete in six national competitions this season, including four that will take place this weekend.

The school has already begun the season with a major victory: For the third year in a row, its Trademark team has won best brief as well as first place overall in the Eastern Region at the Saul K. Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition. The Lefkowitz competition, which was held in February, touches upon issues within trademark and unfair competition law. Second-year students Anjie Vichayanonda and Jeffrey Larson, coached by third-year student Nicholas Scala, competed. They will continue on to the national competition, held in Washington, DC, this weekend.2012 Trademark Moot Court Team

Last year, Scala, along with 2011 graduate Brian Doigan, placed similarly in the regional competition and went on to compete in the nationals.

“It has been a great opportunity to see the respect our school and competitors have earned at the Lefkowitz Eastern Regional over the years,” Scala said. “The track record of UNH Law at this highly competitive competition is a testament to the excellent IP faculty, courses and preparation of UNH.”

Other Moot Court competitions to be held this weekend:

  • Third-year student Andrea Christensen and second-year student Aaron Keller will head to New York City to compete in the Cardozo/BMI Entertainment and Communications Law Moot Court Competition. They will be coached by third-year student Rita Patel, herself a veteran of the competition.
  • Second-year students Bradley Krul and Robert Hornung will compete in the Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial competition in Boston. They will be coached by third-year student Nathan Newbold, who competed last year alongside Robert Hover. Newbold and Hover won “Best Appellant Brief,” “Best Appellee Brief,” and “Overall Southern Regional Winner" at the 2011 regional competition, and they went on to compete in the nationals.
  • Third-year student Jessie Maihos and second-year student Peter Park will compete in the Ruby R. Vale Corporate Moot Court Competition in Wilmington, DE. They will be coached by third-year student Justin Clark.

Future competitions include the Evan A. Evans Constitutional Law Moot Court Competition, held in Madison, WI, March 23-25, and the August A. Rendigs National Products Liability Moot Court Competition in Cincinnati, OH, March 29-31. Second-year students Nathan Warecki and Matthew Cessna, coached by 3L Lisa Merrill, will compete in Evans, and second-year students Phillip Rice and Sarah Wait, coached by 3L Nicole Thorspecken, will compete in Rendigs.

“The Moot Court Board is really excited about this year’s teams,” said third-year student Justin Moscati, chief justice of the 2011-12 Moot Court Board. “The hard work and success of the trademark team is contagious, and we are confident this year will be one of the most successful moot court years in UNH Law/Franklin Pierce history. The board would also like to thank all of the faculty and staff for their continued support and aid in our competition preparations – we could not do it without them.”