University of New Hampshire

School of Law

Endowed Scholarships – 2Ls & 3Ls

Click here for the APPLICATION FORM - no longer available
Application Deadline - May 17, 2013 by 12:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time

Ralph H. Baer Family Patent Scholarship

The Ralph Baer Family Scholarship fund recognizes the life achievement of inventor and UNH School of Law Honorary Degree Recipient Ralph Baer, HD '07, and shall provide an annual award to one or more students studying patent law with a focus on electronics.

Stanley M. Brown Scholarship

The Stanley M. Brown Scholarship was established with a gift from his son, The Honorable Kenneth C. Brown, JD '78, and a former member of the Board of Trustees.  This scholarship will be awarded annually to one or more UNH School of Law students who are New Hampshire residents at the time of their acceptance to UNH School of Law and who graduated from a New Hampshire public high school.  This award will be applied to tuition and fees.

Bruce E. Friedman Scholarship

Named after a professor and former director of the law clinics, this award is given to a current student (2L or 3L) who demonstrates a dedicated commitment to social justice and public interest law, preparing for a career that advances social justice through course work combining legal knowledge with practical skills, project development, and exposure to practice models for the delivery of legal services.

Winnie McLaughlin Women's Scholarship

Named for Agnes Winifred McLaughlin, the first woman admitted to practice law in New Hampshire, this scholarship was established by UNH Law and the New Hampshire Women's Bar Association. It is awarded to a woman student entering the second year at UNH Law who has demonstrated a commitment to community service focused on advancing women in society, and demonstrated academic achievement. Download the Application.

Robert J. O'Connell Scholarship

The Robert J. O'Connell Scholarship will be awarded to one full-time JD student to offset the cost of tuition for one year.

The Rapee Scholarship

Friends and family of Doris Rapee established this scholarship, which will provide an award to one 2L or 3L female student who intends to pursue a career in the public sector. Preference is given to those interested in government service on the local, state, or federal level.

Gordon V. and Nancy B. Smith Scholarship

The Gordon V. and Nancy B. Smith Scholarship award is made annually to one or more UNH Law students beginning study within the IP curriculum. Preference will be given to a student from an ASEAN nation: Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar or Cambodia. In the event no qualified student is identified in a particular year, the award will be made to any qualified international student. It is hoped that the recipient will return to his or her country to practice or work.

Opportunity Scholarship

Awarded annually to one or more UNH Law students who demonstrate financial need and are considered by the law school to be a part of a diverse population. This award will be applied to tuition and fees.

Douglas J. Wood Chairman's Scholarship

These scholarships are funded from a donation by Douglas J. Wood, 1976 alumnus and former chairman of the Board of UNH Law, through a gift he received for distinguished service to a client. Wood Scholars are selected from rising 2Ls who did not receive Merit Scholarships upon matriculation and who have demonstrated academic excellence, keen writing ability and service to the law school.

Search terms must contain 3 or more characters.